#CIBSunday Shadow of the Colossus

What a game this was, I remember during the build up to the game’s release I only owned a Gamecube and was a firm ‘nintend-only’ console owner. However, there was something special about Shadow of the Colossus, and something that made me ‘need’ it…

I still remember waking up early to get to GAME to buy this, and a nice new PS2 slim, in it’s bright yellow box!

I had the day off of University (everyday…), and am pretty sure I did nothing that weekend apart from explore the haunting world hunting for colossi to destroy. It’s the kind of game that doesn’t come around very often, one that sticks with you forever after. I still have memories of the screams the beasts make when you take them down, destroying something beautiful, so that no one else can experience their grace. The ending too, is quite fitting, a punishment for the blind selfishness of the main character.

Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Front
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Front

I also love the packaging, I am sucker for a nice cardboard box, and thats exactly how SoTC first run was released. As you’ll see from my photos, I have looked after this game as well as humanly possible! I also just had to buy the soundtrack, which is wonderful.

I’m sure you’ll agree what a great game this was, and wonder what memories it evokes in you?

Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Full Pack Shot
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Full Pack Shot
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Back
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Back
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Postcards
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Postcards
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Soundtrack
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Soundtrack
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Soundtrack Sleeve
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | Soundtrack Sleeve
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | One Coin Toys
Travels in Gaming | Shadow of the Colossus | One Coin Toys
2 thoughts on “#CIBSunday Shadow of the Colossus

Get involved

