Not a Hideo Kojima Game…

Like most gamers recently, I have been spending a lot of time (& I mean a lot – this game is MASSIVE) playing Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. Now, as amazing as it is a technical feat., with its robust FOX engine, beautiful graphics & some of the best stealth action console gaming has ever seen, I can’t help but hate it…

Most of you, those who are hardened MGS fans, will probably know exactly why I feel that way. Again, don’t get me wrong, the game itself is class. The last mission I completed (number 21), whereby I had to infiltrate an enemy airport & take out a visiting weapons inspector & his guide was brilliant. That fact I did it without being spotted, whilst fulton-ing out both targets helped of course and there were none of the damn “SKULLS” about… the near invincible bastards! I felt god-like, as Big Boss should, & with the S Rank in the bag I went to bed happy… So, why that hate…

Travels in Gaming | Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Travels in Gaming | Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

Well, this is Metal Gear… or it’s meant to be!

Kojima games are known for their convoluted narratives, lengthy cut scenes & epic, cerebral boss fights. 28 hours in, I have experienced none of these. This makes me sad. I keep expecting the next mission to change that, for something to happen, other than me saving another prisoner or capturing another interrupter. I know I am not even half way in, things might change, however this isn’t the Metal Gear Solid 90’s gamer’s remember. I don’t think the massive open world (why Koj, why? Peer pressure?) or the completely uninteresting Mother Base building side quest help, it all detracts & takes time away from what should be a riveting story. I reckon 10 hours of my play have been traveling to mission start points, waiting for a chopper or walking from one platform on Mother Base to another to Raise Morale. Lower mine…

Hopefully I’ll be back in a weeks time, with a completely opposite opinion, but until then, I’ll keep you waiting.. huh 😛

Get involved

